Main Content

In this photograph, taken on April 23, 1966 by Robert Knudson, the Johnson family poses with their dogs in the Rose Garden. From the left, First Lady Lady Bird Johnson, President Lyndon B. Johnson, and daughter Luci Johnson hold three beagles, two of which are named Him and Her, the other is most likely one of the two puppies Luci kept from Him's litter. On the right, the Johnson's white collie, Blanco, poses with Luci's husband Patrick Nugent.

Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library and Museum/NARA
Teacher Professional Development: Out of Paw-ffice: White House Pets
Date
12/02/2021
Time
Days
Thursday

The White House Historical Association and the LBJ Presidential Library are pleased to invite K-12 educators to join “Out of Paw-ffice: White House Pets,” a virtual professional development program. Through this program, educators will discover stories of past White House pets and learn different strategies for incorporating this history into their classrooms.

This professional development will be hosted virtually, via Zoom, on Thursday, December 2 at 7pm EST, 4pm PST and will last approximately one hour. Interested K-12 educators can register to join above. The registration deadline is Monday, November 29th at 11:59pm EST, 8:59pm PST. Details, including the link to join, will be shared with registrants the week of the program.

After the program, attendees will receive access to all session materials and will have the opportunity to complete an evaluation. Upon completion of the evaluation, educators will receive a certificate acknowledging their time spent learning during this program.

Please direct questions to education@whha.org.