Main Content

8:00 - 8:50 am

Networking Breakfast

Willard Hotel Crystal & Willard Rooms

8:50 - 9:00 am


Willard Hotel Ballroom

Must be present to win.

9:00 – 10:45 am

General Session

Willard Hotel Ballroom

Presidents and the Press Throughout History

  • Introduction: Martha Kumar, Member of the Board of Directors, The White House Historical Association
  • Panel A: 
    • Moderator: Frank Sesno, Director, School of Media and Public Affairs, George Washington University, Former CNN D.C. Bureau Chief
    • Richard Benedetto, Adjunct Professor of Journalism, American University and former White House Correspondent and Columnist
    • Mike McCurry, Member of the Board of Directors, The White House Historical Association and Press Secretary, William J. Clinton Administration 
    • Ron Nessen, Press Secretary, Gerald R. Ford Administration
    • Susan Page, Journalist and USA Today Washington Bureau Chief
    • Kenneth Walsh, White House Correspondent and Columnist , U.S. News & World Report
  • Panel B:
    • Jon Meacham, Presidential Historian and Author interviewed by Judy Woodruff, Anchor and Managing Editor of the PBS NewsHour

11:00 am – 12:15 pm

Breakout Session: Choose A or B

Session A: Inclusive Presidential History

Willard Hotel Ballroom

  • Introduction: Gail Berry West, Member of the Board of Directors, The White House Historical Association
  • Moderator: William Antholis, Director and CEO, Miller Center, University of Virginia
  • Catherine Allgor, President, Massachusetts Historical Society
  • Edward Ayers, Historian, University of Richmond
  • Leslie Bowman, President, Thomas Jefferson Foundation
  • Timothy Naftali, Historian and Clinical Associate Professor of Public Service, New York University
  • Katherine A.S. Sibley, Director of American Studies Program, St. Joseph's University

Session B: Philanthropy, Fundraising, and Outreach in a Rapidly Changing Environment

Willard Hotel Pierce Room

  • Introduction: Rhett Wilson, Vice President, Development, The White House Historical Association
  • Moderator: Stacy Palmer, Editor, The Chronicle of Philanthropy
  • Catherine Hernandez-Blades, Senior Vice President, Chief Brand and Communications Officer, Aflac
  • Gary Cole, Chief Development Officer, Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation
  • Alan Dabbiere, Entrepreneur, Philanthropist, owner of Hickory Hill, and Member, National Council on White House History
  • Phil Hills, CEO, Marts & Lundy and Lead Strategy Consultant, Smithsonian Capital Campaign

12:30 - 1:40 pm


See your badge for room assignment.

Willard Hotel Willard Room  

  • Welcome: Ann Stock, Member of the Board of Directors, The White House Historical Association, and Social Secretary, William J. Clinton Administration
  • Speaker: Chef Roland Mesnier, Former White House Executive Pastry Chef and Author

Willard Hotel Crystal Room

  • Welcome: Bob McGee, Member of the Board of Directors, The White House Historical Association
  • Speakers: A conversation with Stewart McLaurin, President, The White House Historical Association; Mark Updegrove, President and CEO, LBJ Foundation; and Anita McBride, Chair, Presidential Sites Summit Committee, Member of the Board of Directors, The White House Historical Association, and Chief of Staff to First Lady Laura Bush

2:45 – 4:15 pm

General Session at The National Archives McGowan Theater

Buses Depart from Willard Hotel at 1:45 pm

Civics Education and Presidential Sites  

  • Introduction: David Ferriero, Tenth Archivist of the United States
  • Moderator: Cokie Roberts, Journalist, ABC and NPR
  • Louise Dubé, Executive Director, iCivics
  • Lee Rainie, Director of Internet and Technology Research, Pew Research Center  
  • Paul Sparrow, Director, Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
  • Tom Walker, President and CEO, American Village Citizenship Trust 

6:30 - 8:30 pm

White House Reception hosted by President and Mrs. Trump

Doors open at 5:30 pm

Enter the White House Complex at the corner of 15th Street and Alexander Hamilton Place, just west of the Willard Hotel and south of the Department of Treasury.

Schedule Subject to Change